Archer re-elected as BSRA President for the 11th time (President’s Report attached)

BSA President – Craig Archer

At the 29th Annual General Meeting of the Barbados Squash Rackets Association (BSRA) held on May 20, 2009 a new Executive Council was elected for a new one year term. The experienced sports administrator, Mr. Craig Archer, was re-elected unopposed at the AGM for his eleventh one year term of office in the position of President.

Mr. Archer was first elected onto the BSRA Council in May 1988 and since then has served in a number of administrative positions in squash for a record eighteen out of the past twenty two years. He was also recently re-elected for a third four year term as a Director of the Barbados Olympic Association Inc. (BOA). A professional engineer and project manager by training, Archer is also the current Treasurer of the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers (BAPE), and also serves on the Executive of the Caribbean Area Squash Association (CASA) and on the Technical Committee of the World Squash Federation (WSF).

Mr. Archer will once again have an experienced team to call upon since the majority of the outgoing BSRA Executive Council were returned unopposed to their former positions. Mr. Orson Simpson, another seasoned sports administrator, who is also a keen squash player and cricketer, and is the current Treasurer of the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA), was returned unopposed to the position of Senior Vice-President, while 5-time national men’s champion, Mr. Shawn Simpson, was returned unopposed as Treasurer. Ms. Jeannette Cullen was elected unopposed to the position of Secretary and replaced telecom executive Mr. Alex McDonald, who did not seek re-election.

Mr. Sanjay Amin is the new Junior Vice President and the other unopposed Council Members for the 2009-2010 year are as follows: Mr. Tony Mackenzie, Mrs. Yvonne Parris, Mr. Norman Rice and Mr. Dean Straker.

A copy of the President’s report to the 29th AGM is available for you to download and print if you follow the link below.

President’s Report to 2009 AGM (.pdf) – file no. 1